Twitter is back up and running after brief outage


Twitter is back up and running after a brief outage left users unable to login or post and view tweets

  • Twitter appears to be back up and running after users reported an outage today
  • Reports of problems first began to surface at around 12:45 BST (07:45 ET)
  • More than 28,000 reports of issues were logged on the website Down Detector
  • Issue was later resolved at about 13:45 BST (08:45 ET) but no details on cause 

Twitter appears to be back up and running after a brief outage today.

People were left unable to login to their accounts, meaning they also could not post or view tweets, for about an hour.

According to Down Detector, a website which monitors such outages, reports of problems first began to surface at about 12:45 BST (07:45 ET).

The issue was later resolved at about 13:45 BST (08:45 ET).

Crash: Twitter appears to be back up and running after a brief outage today 

According to Down Detector, a website which monitors such outages, reports of problems first began to surface at about 12:45 BST (07:45 ET)

According to Down Detector, a website which monitors such outages, reports of problems first began to surface at about 12:45 BST (07:45 ET) 

More than 28,000 reports of problems had logged on Down Detector, with users struggling to access Twitter via both the app and website.

Some 57 per cent of users experienced problems with the app, while 38 per cent had trouble with the site.

A further 6 per cent reported an inability to post tweets.

Most of the issues were reported in major cities, including London and Birmingham in the UK, as well as New York and Los Angeles in the US.

It is unclear what has caused Twitter to crash but MailOnline has contacted the social media company for a comment.

Twitter users have experienced 65 outages over the past 12 months, according to Down Detector.

Most of the issues were reported in major cities, including London and Birmingham in the UK

Most of the issues were reported in major cities, including London and Birmingham in the UK

In the US, thousands of reports of Twitter crashing were logged from users in New York and LA

In the US, thousands of reports of Twitter crashing were logged from users in New York and LA

Read more at DailyMail.co.uk