Scheer names his caucus critics – and some notable MPs have been left off the list

Conservative Leader Andrew Scheer has announced what he calls his “shadow cabinet” — the critics who will be in charge of scrutinizing Liberal ministers and their policies.

Notably absent from the list are some high-profile Tory MPs, including Ed Fast, the former trade minister under Stephen Harper, and Rachael Harder, the party’s status of women critic in the last Parliament. Both endorsed Erin O’Toole in the last Conservative leadership contest.

Some MPs will keep the files they held before the election: James Bezan, for example, remains defence critic, Pierre Poilievre is still the finance critic, O’Toole stays on as foreign affairs critic and Marilyn Gladu continues as the health critic.

Others have been tasked with new files, including Michelle Rempel Garner — now the critic for industry and economic development — and Peter Kent, now critic for immigration, refugees and citizenship.

Here is the full list of critics:

  • Ziad Aboultaif: digital government
  • Dan Albas: dmployment, workforce development and disability inclusion
  • Mel Arnold: fisheries, oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • John Barlow: agriculture and agri-Food
  • Michael Barrett: ethics
  • Luc Berthold: infrastructure and communities
  • Steven Blaney: Canadian heritage
  • Kelly Block: public services and procurement
  • Colin Carrie: Canada-U.S. relations and the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
  • Michael Chong: democratic institutions
  • James Cumming: small business and export promotion
  • Raquel Dancho: diversity and inclusion and youth
  • Chris d’Entremont: official languages and the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Gérard Deltell: intergovernmental affairs
  • Todd Doherty: transport
  • Kerry-Lynne Findlay: environment and climate change
  • Cheryl Gallant: veterans affairs (associate) and the Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
  • Bernard Généreux: rural economic development and the Economic Development Agency of Canada for Regions of Quebec
  • Garnett Genuis: multiculturalism
  • Marilyn Gladu: health
  • Tracy Gray: interprovincial trade
  • Randy Hoback: international trade
  • Matt Jeneroux: infrastructure and communities (associate)
  • Pat Kelly: finance (associate)
  • Hon. Peter Kent: immigration, refugees and citizenship
  • Stephanie Kusie: families, children and social development
  • Mike Lake: international development
  • Richard Lehoux: agriculture and agri-food (associate)
  • Richard Martel: national defence (associate)
  • Phil McColeman: veterans affairs
  • Cathy McLeod: natural resources (forestry and mining)
  • Rob Moore: justice and attorney general
  • Marty Morantz: national revenue
  • Glen Motz: public safety and emergency preparedness (associate)
  • Erin O’Toole: foreign affairs
  • Pierre Paul-Hus: public safety and emergency preparedness
  • Pierre Poilievre: finance and the National Capital Commission
  • Michelle Rempel Garner: industry and economic development
  • Blake Richards: tourism and western economic diversification
  • Bob Saroya: Queen’s Privy Council for Canada
  • Jamie Schmale: Crown-Indigenous relations
  • Shannon Stubbs: natural resources
  • David Sweet: international human rights and religious freedom
  • Tim Uppal: Treasury Board
  • Karen Vecchio: women and gender equality
  • Gary Vidal: Indigenous services
  • John Williamson: labour
  • Alice Wong: seniors
  • Bob Zimmer: northern affairs and the Northern Economic Development Agency