Ex-Ranger Lundqvist to sign with former rival Capitals

Veteran goaltender Henrik Lundqvist will sign a one-year deal with the Washington Capitals, multiple outlets reported Friday.

Lundqvist and the New York Rangers parted ways after 15 years on Sept. 30 when the team bought out the final season of his seven-year, $59.5 million contract.

The 38-year-old left the Rangers with his name all over the top-10 lists in NHL history. He’s sixth in wins (459), seventh in saves (23,509), eighth in games by a goalie (887), ninth in time on ice (51,816 minutes and 19 seconds). He also ranks 16th in shutouts with 64.

The Rangers selected the Swede in the seventh round of the 2000 NHL Draft, and he took over in goal in the 2005-06 season. A five-time finalist for the Vezina Trophy, which signifies the league’s top goaltender, he won the award for the 2011-12 season.

Ilya Samsonov, 23, is penciled in as the starter for the Capitals, but general manager Brian MacLellan said earlier this week that Lundqvist could fit the team’s needs when asked about him.

Ex-Flame G Talbot to signs with Wild

The Minnesota Wild signed free-agent goaltender Cam Talbot to a three-year, $11 million US contract Friday, multiple outlets reported.

Talbot, 33, went 12-10-1 with a 2.63 goals-against average, .919 save percentage and two shutouts in 26 games with the Calgary Flames in 2019-20.

He replaces Devan Dubnyk, who was traded to the San Jose Sharks on Monday after five-plus seasons with the Wild.

Talbot’s career numbers include a 150-122-25 record with 22 shutouts, a 2.61 GAA and .915 save percentage with the New York Rangers (2013-15), Edmonton Oilers (2016-19), Philadelphia Flyers (2019) and Flames.

WATCH | Rob Pizzo looks at goalies flooding the market:

There are plenty of big names available this year when free agency officially opens, but Rob Pizzo says plenty of teams may have new goalies when next season starts.  3:56

Former Senator Ryan signs with Red Wings

The Detroit Red Wings signed forward Bobby Ryan to a one-year contract on Friday.

Ryan was the No. 2 overall pick in the 2005 NHL draft by Anaheim, selected after Sidney Crosby went first to the Pittsburgh Penguins. Ryan spent six seasons with the Ducks before being traded to Ottawa in 2013.

Last season with the Senators, he appeared in 24 games, registering five goals and three assists. In 833 career games, he has 254 goals and 301 assists along with 443 penalty minutes.

Ryan won the Bill Masterton Trophy in 2019-20 for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the sport. He took an extended leave of absence from the team last November to enter the NHL/NHLPA player assistance program amid a battle with alcohol abuse.

WATCH | After successful playoffs, what’s next for NHL?:

The NHL had zero cases in the bubble during the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs, but what’s next for the league? Andi Petrillo speaks with NHL analyst Dave Poulin. 6:03

Tyler Johnson on waivers

The Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay Lightning have put forward Tyler Johnson on waivers. Johnson, who had four goals and seven points in 25 playoff games, has three years remaining on a seven-year, $35 million contract that includes a no-trade clause.

Sabres re-sign Girgensons

The Buffalo Sabres signed centre Zemgus Girgensons to a three-year, $6.6 million deal on Friday to prevent him from reaching the free-agent market.

The No. 14 overall pick of the 2012 NHL draft by the Sabres would have become an unrestricted free agent.

In 489 regular-season games over seven seasons, the Latvian has recorded 138 points (61 goals, 77 assists). Last season, he had 12 goals and seven assists in 69 games.

ECHL to start with 2-phase schedule

The ECHL plans a two-phased start to its 2020-21 season during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Thirteen of the 25 active teams will begin play Dec. 11 and the other 12 kick off on Jan. 15, 2021.

The Brampton Beast and the Newfoundland Growlers — the league’s two Canadian teams — will be part of the latter group. Those 12 teams will play a 62-game season.

The 13 teams that start Dec. 11 will play a 72-game season.

Read more at CBC.ca