Canadiens expose Price in Kraken expansion draft after goalie waives no-move clause

After backstopping the Montreal Canadiens to the Stanley Cup final, Carey Price has been left unprotected for the Seattle Kraken expansion draft.

Price could become the face of the NHL’s 32nd franchise if general manager Ron Francis and his staff decide to take on one of the biggest contracts in hockey.

He agreed to waive a clause in his contract to be exposed so Montreal could protect cheaper backup Jake Allen, but his goaltending ability, off-ice marketability and ties to the Pacific Northwest could make Price an attractive option even with a salary cap hit of $10.5 million US for five more years.

The 2015 MVP and Vezina Trophy winner is the biggest star left unprotected for the Kraken to select, but there’s plenty of other talent available.

St. Louis winger Vladimir Tarasenko is an option two years removed from hoisting the Stanley Cup after asking the Blues for a trade. Calgary exposed captain and 2019 Norris Trophy-winning defenceman Mark Giordano. And Carolina surprisingly made forward Nino Niederreiter available.

The league released the protected lists of all 30 teams eligible for the expansion draft Sunday morning. Seattle will pick one player from everyone except Vegas — which just went through this process in 2017 — and announce those selections at the expansion draft Wednesday at 8 p.m. ET.

WATCH | Get ready for a wild NHL off-season:

Buckle up for a wild NHL off-season


5 days ago


Thanks to the Seattle Kraken, hockey fans will have plenty to keep them busy over the next few weeks. 2:57

Calgary Flames


  • Byron Froese (F)
  • Glenn Gawdin (F)
  • Justin Kirkland (F)
  • Josh Leivo (F)
  • Milan Lucic (F)
  • Joakim Nordstrom (F)
  • Matthew Phillips (F)
  • Zac Rinaldo (F)
  • Brett Ritchie (F)
  • Buddy Robinson (F)
  • Derek Ryan (F)
  • Dominik Simon (F)
  • Mark Giordano (D)
  • Oliver Kylington (D)
  • Nikita Nesterov (D)
  • Alexander Petrovic (D)
  • Michael Stone (D)
  • Louis Domingue (G)
  • Tyler Parsons (G)


  • Mikael Backlund (F)
  • Dillon Dube (F)
  • Johnny Gaudreau (F)
  • Elias Lindholm (F)
  • Andrew Mangiapane (F)
  • Sean Monahan (F)
  • Matthew Tkachuk (F)
  • Rasmus Andersson (D)
  • Noah Hanifin (D)
  • Christopher Tanev (D)
  • Jacob Markstrom (G)

Edmonton Oilers


  • Tyler Benson (F)
  • Alex Chiasson (F)
  • Adam Cracknell (F)
  • Tyler Ennis (F)
  • Joseph Gambardella (F)
  • Seth Griffith (F)
  • Dominik Kahun (F)
  • Jujhar Khaira (F)
  • Cooper Marody (F)
  • James Neal (F)
  • Alan Quine (F)
  • Patrick Russell (F)
  • Devin Shore (F)
  • Anton Slepyshev (F)
  • Kyle Turris (F)
  • Bogdan Yakimov (F)
  • Tyson Barrie (D)
  • Oscar Klefbom (D)
  • Slater Koekkoek (D)
  • Dmitry Kulikov (D)
  • William Lagesson (D)
  • Adam Larsson (D)
  • Kris Russell (D)
  • Mikko Koskinen (G)
  • Mike Smith (G)
  • Alex Stalock (G)


  • Josh Archibald (F)
  • Leon Draisaitl (F)
  • Zack Kassian (F)
  • Connor McDavid (F)
  • Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (F)
  • Jesse Puljujarvi (F)
  • Kailer Yamamoto (F)
  • Ethan Bear (D)
  • Duncan Keith (D)
  • Darnell Nurse (D)
  • Stuart Skinner (G)

Montreal Canadiens


  • Brandon Baddock (F)
  • Joseph Blandisi (F)
  • Paul Byron (F)
  • Phillip Danault (F)
  • Laurent Dauphin (F)
  • Jonathan Drouin (F)
  • Michael Frolik (F)
  • Charles Hudon (F)
  • Corey Perry (F)
  • Michael Pezzetta (F)
  • Eric Staal (F)
  • Tomas Tatar (F)
  • Lukas Vejdemo (F)
  • Jordan Weal (F)
  • Cale Fleury (D)
  • Erik Gustafsson (D)
  • Brett Kulak (D)
  • Jon Merrill (D)
  • Gustav Olofsson (D)
  • Xavier Ouellet (D)
  • Shea Weber (D)
  • Charlie Lindgren (G)
  • Michael McNiven (G)
  • Carey Price (G)


  • Josh Anderson (F)
  • Joel Armia (F)
  • Jake Evans (F)
  • Brendan Gallagher (F)
  • Jesperi Kotkaniemi (F)
  • Artturi Lehkonen (F)
  • Tyler Toffoli (F)
  • Ben Chiarot (D)
  • Joel Edmundson (D)
  • Jeff Petry (D)
  • Jake Allen (G)

Ottawa Senators


  • Vitaly Abramov (F)
  • Michael Amadio (F)
  • Artem Anisimov (F)
  • J.C. Beaudin (F)
  • Clark Bishop (F)
  • Evgenii Dadonov (F)
  • Jonathan Davidsson (F)
  • Ryan Dzingel (F)
  • Micheal Haley (F)
  • Jack Kopacka (F)
  • Zachary Magwood (F)
  • Matthew Peca (F)
  • Logan Shaw (F)
  • Derek Stepan (F)
  • Chris Tierney (F)
  • Josh Brown (D)
  • Cody Goloubef (D)
  • Mikael Wikstrand (D)
  • Joey Daccord (G)
  • Anton Forsberg (G)
  • Marcus Hogberg (G)
  • Matt Murray (G)


  • Drake Batherson (F)
  • Connor Brown (F)
  • Logan Brown (F)
  • Nick Paul (F)
  • Brady Tkachuk (F)
  • Austin Watson (F)
  • Colin White (F)
  • Thomas Chabot (D)
  • Victor Mete (D)
  • Nikita Zaitsev (D)
  • Filip Gustavsson (G)

Toronto Maple Leafs


  • Kenny Agostino (F)
  • Joey Anderson (F)
  • Adam Brooks (F)
  • Pierre Engvall (F)
  • Nick Foligno (F)
  • Alex Galchenyuk (F)
  • Zach Hyman (F)
  • Alexander Kerfoot (F)
  • Kalle Kossila (F)
  • Denis Malgin (F)
  • Jared McCann (F)
  • Riley Nash (F)
  • Stefan Noesen (F)
  • Nic Petan (F)
  • Scott Sabourin (F)
  • Wayne Simmonds (F)
  • Jason Spezza (F)
  • Antti Suomela (F)
  • Joe Thornton (F)
  • Zach Bogosian (D)
  • Travis Dermott (D)
  • Ben Hutton (D)
  • Martin Marincin (D)
  • Calle Rosen (D)
  • Frederik Andersen (G)
  • Michael Hutchinson (G)
  • David Rittich (G)


  • Mitchell Marner (F)
  • Auston Matthews (F)
  • William Nylander (F)
  • John Tavares (F)
  • TJ Brodie (D)
  • Justin Holl (D)
  • Jake Muzzin (D)
  • Morgan Rielly (D)
  • Jack Campbell (G)

Vancouver Canucks


  • Sven Baertschi (F)
  • Justin Bailey (F)
  • Jay Beagle (F)
  • Travis Boyd (F)
  • Loui Eriksson (F)
  • Jonah Gadjovich (F)
  • Tyler Graovac (F)
  • Jayce Hawryluk (F)
  • Matthew Highmore (F)
  • Lukas Jasek (F)
  • Kole Lind (F)
  • Zack MacEwen (F)
  • Petrus Palmu (F)
  • Antoine Roussel (F)
  • Brandon Sutter (F)
  • Jimmy Vesey (F)
  • Jake Virtanen (F)
  • Madison Bowey (D)
  • Guillaume Brisebois (D)
  • Jalen Chatfield (D)
  • Alexander Edler (D)
  • Travis Hamonic (D)
  • Brogan Rafferty (D)
  • Ashton Sautner (D)
  • Josh Teves (D)
  • Braden Holtby (G)


  • Brock Boeser (F)
  • Jason Dickinson (F)
  • Bo Horvat (F)
  • J.T. Miller (F)
  • Tyler Motte (F)
  • Tanner Pearson (F)
  • Elias Pettersson (F)
  • Olli Juolevi (D)
  • Tyler Myers (D)
  • Nate Schmidt (D)
  • Thatcher Demko (G)